Holiday Antics

It’s the beginning of the new year, and I made only two resolutions:

  1. Use my sewing machine more. (I’m still terrified I’ll break it! And hand sewing can be done in total comfort on the sofa with a nice cuppa ๐Ÿ˜€ )
  2. Get back into blogging.

So here I am, getting back into blogging! I have moved blogs, as it seems it is much easier for readers to comment on WordPress, rather than all that faffing with signing in and ‘capchas'(?!) with Google’s Blogspot – a good start I think!

I’m sure some of you will be wondering where I have been – my online presence has dwindled somewhat over the last couple of months, which I am sorry for, but things have been a little busy at heartstitch hq! ย My dear ol’ mum (I say ol’ – a term of endearment ๐Ÿ˜€ I know she reads this and I wouldn’t want her to think I am calling her old!) has not been very well at all, so I have been on an extended visit to Dorset to look after her. ย I’ll call it payback for all the years she’s done the same for me ๐Ÿ™‚
I do love Dorset – it’s made a lovely change of scenery (when we have managed to go out) from the greys of Plymouth City Centre, to the sea and the greenery of Weymouth. ย I am most certainly a country girl at heart – though I do NOT like it when any actual country gets *on* me ๐Ÿ˜›

The view is pretty good though ๐Ÿ˜€

view


Christmas was a quiet affair this year – just how I like it ๐Ÿ˜€ ย Not many trimmings with the dinner, a tree 1/4 the size we normally have, no booze (showing mum some solidarity as she can’t have any), old musicals on the telly, but still plenty of presents, and a good time was had by all (at least no one said otherwise!)

Image

(Tiny tree!)

I was spoilt (again) this year, with a slowcooker (that I am trying out today – will let you know how it goes!):

Image

A wonderful ‘doodle’ of me and t’other half (and the furry things) by Kittypinkstars (you can find her wonderful Etsy shop *here*):
Image

I also got a gorgeous Cath Kidston handbag:
Image

New years eve was another quiet night in – a roast dinner and a very important game of Scrabble… The first time I have EVER won against my wordgamenut mum!

Image

Yes, yes that is ‘zips’ on a triple letter score ๐Ÿ˜€ Please also note ‘domical’ (played at the last minute) and ‘vav’ – the 6th letter of the Hebrew alphabet ๐Ÿ˜€ Also for the keen eyed – I do believe this was my Grannys board – as the copyright sign says 1954 next to it!

I’ve also been keeping my hand in with the sewing – I was stuffing this little fella on Christmas eve!
Image

I am trying to get together a nice little mound of current designs, that way, I don’t have to keep making them all the time – and then I can get on with all the NEW things that have been clogging up my brain ๐Ÿ˜€ ย So if there’s something you’d like in a particular colour that you can’t find on my Etsy shop, do ask as chances are I have one sneakily stashed away for listing later ๐Ÿ™‚ I currently have ALL the keyrings – next on the list is gadget cases ๐Ÿ™‚

I do hope you all had a fabulous Christmas/New Year/Whatever you do or don’t celebrate in late December/early January! ย  If you were lucky enough to get any heartstitch goodies I would LOVE to see photos of you with them! ย My plan is to get back to blogging at least once a week, so I’ll be back soon, perhaps with a nice slow cookerย recipe, and *maybe* evidence of sewing machine use. ๐Ÿ™‚
Do let me know if there is something you would like to see here – I’d love to do a tutorial at some point, but if you have any questions I’d be more than happy to answer them!

5 thoughts on “Holiday Antics

    • Ah thank you Claire ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m just getting to grips with it for now – the ‘look’ is just a standard template til I’ve got my head round it/got someone who knows what they’re doing to heartstitch it up a bit ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

